Blogs

  Blog   Government | Health & Sexuality | Religious Freedom

ALERT: HOUSE COMMITTEE TO HEAR RELIGIOUS LIBERTY BILL!

religiousliberty

Friends,

We have just learned that the N.C. House Judiciary 1 Committee is planning to consider an important religious liberty bill next Wednesday, May 27. Senate Bill 2-Magistrates Recusal of Civil Ceremonies would establish a legal right:

  • Allowing magistrates to recuse from performing marriage ceremonies, and
  • Allowing assistant registers of deeds and deputy registers of deeds to recuse from issuing marriage licenses…

…as long as the recusal is “based upon any sincerely held religious objection.” The bill would also shield these public servants from punishment or disciplinary action for failing to discharge their duties, if the recusal is made in “good-faith.”

S2 became necessary after federal court rulings forced the State of North Carolina to legally recognize same-sex unions and begin issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples last fall. Subsequently, a number of magistrates resigned their posts in order to avoid violating their deeply held religious beliefs by being forced to participate in same-sex union ceremonies.

Please TAKE A STAND FOR RELIGIOUS LIBERTY this weekend by contacting the following members of the House Judiciary 1 Committee and asking them to support Senate Bill 2.

Thank You, and May God Bless You and Your Family this Memorial Day weekend!
Sincerely,

John_signature

 

 

 

 

John L. Rustin, President
North Carolina Family Policy Council


 

MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE JUDICIARY 1 COMMITTEE:

Chairman:
Rep. Leo Daughtry (R-Johnston)  Home/Work: 919-934-7265  Legislative: 919-733-5605  Email: Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

Vice Chairmen:
Rep. Justin Burr (R-Stanly)  Home/Work : 704-983-4663  Legislative: 919-733-5908  Email: Justin.Burr@ncleg.net
Rep. Darren Jackson (D-Wake)  Legislative: 919-733-5974  Email: Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net

Members:
Reps. Dean Arp (R-Union)  Home/Work : 704-282-0418  Legislative: 919-715-3007  Email: Dean.Arp@ncleg.net
Rep. Larry Hall (D-Durham)  Home/ Work: 919-682-8823  Legislative: 919-733-5872  Email: Larry.Hall@ncleg.net
Rep. Jon Hardister (R-Guilford)  Home/Work: 336-404-8791  Legislative: 919-733-5191  Email: Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net
Rep. Julia Howard (R-Davie)  Home/Work: 336-751-3538  Legislative: 919-733-5904  Email: Julia.Howard@ncleg.net
Rep. Linda Johnson (R-Cabarrus)  Home/Work: 704-932-1376  Legislative: 919-733-5861  Email: Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net
Rep. Grier Martin (D-Wake)  Legislative: 919-733-5773  Email: Grier.Martin@ncleg.net
Rep. Allen McNeill (R-Randolph)  Home/Work: 336-857-3633  Legislative: 919-715-4946  Email: Allen.McNeill@ncleg.net
Rep. George Robinson (R-Caldwell)  Home/ Work: 828-758-5433  Legislative: 919-733-5931  Email: George.Robinson@ncleg.net
Rep. Bob Steinburg (R-Chowan)  Home/Work: 252-482-2404  Legislative: 919-733-0010  Email: Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.net
Rep. John Szoka (R-Cumberland)  Home/Work: 910-583-2960  Legislative: 919-733-9892  Email: John.Szoka@ncleg.net

SHARE THIS ON FACEBOOKSHARE THIS ON TWITTER

Receive Our Legislative Alerts