Blog   Government

NC Third Congressional District Primary TODAY

Today is the Primary Election for North Carolina’s Third Congressional District race. This special election was called for after the passing of Congressman Walter B. Jones, Jr. in February. NC Family has surveyed all 26 candidates running in this race, and we received 16 responses that are compiled in a District 3 Voter Guide on our website. We strongly encourage those of you living in NC’s Third Congressional District to avail yourselves of the information in our Voter Guide before going to vote today!

The General Election for this race will be held on Tuesday, July 9, unless the leading candidate in any of the primary races fails to obtain more than 30 percent of the vote. If this happens, a runoff second primary may be held on Tuesday, July 9, and then the General Election will take place on Tuesday, September 10.

If you are unsure which Congressional District you live in, visit the NC General Assembly’s Find Your Legislators page and enter your address.

The following is the official list of candidates running in this special election:


  • Richard Bew, Newport
  • Gregory Humphrey, Beulaville
  • Ike Johnson, Jacksonville
  • Dana E. Outlaw, New Bern
  • Ernest T. Reeves, Greenville
  • Allen Thomas, Winterville


  • Kevin Baiko, Moyoc
  • Paul Beaumont, Shawboro
  • Graham Boyd, Wake Forest
  • Celeste Cairns, Emerald Isle
  • Gary Ceres, Greenville
  • Chimer Davis Clark, Jr., Morehead City
  • Don Cox, Belhaven
  • Francis X. DeLuca, Cary
  • Phil Law, Jacksonville
  • Jeff Moore, Raleigh
  • Greg Murphy, Greenville
  • Michele Nix, Kinston
  • Mike Payment, Grandy
  • Joan Perry, Kinston
  • Eric Rouse, Kinston
  • Phil Shepard, Jacksonville
  • Michael Speciale, New Bern


  • Greg Holt, New Bern


  • Shannon W. Bray, Apex
  • Tim Harris, New Bern

Receive Our Legislative Alerts