Blog   Government

N.C. General Assembly Elects Leaders

The North Carolina General Assembly met in Raleigh today, January 14, for an organizational session to elect its leaders and to set the stage for the start of the 2015 “Long” Legislative Session, which begins in earnest at noon on Wednesday, January 28. State Senator Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) was elected to a third term as President Pro Tempore of the North Carolina Senate, where Republicans hold a 34 to 16 majority. In the North Carolina House of Representatives, Rep. Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) was elected to his first term as Speaker in a chamber where Republicans have a 75 to 45 advantage. Additionally, Sen. Louis Pate (R-Wayne) was elected for a second term as Deputy President Pro Tempore of the N.C. Senate, and Rep. Paul Stam (R-Wake) was elected to a second term as Speaker Pro Tempore of the N.C. House.

During the proceedings, it was also acknowledged that Sen. Harry Brown (R-Onslow) will serve as Senate Majority Leader and Sen. Dan Blue (D-Wake) will serve as Senate Minority Leader. In the House, Rep. Mike Hager (R-Rutherford) will serve as House Majority Leader, Rep. Larry Hall (D-Durham) will serve as House Minority Leader, and Rep. David Lewis (R-Harnett) will serve as Chairman of the House Rules Committee.

“We congratulate Senator Berger, Speaker Moore and the other legislators who have been selected for these extremely important leadership offices,” said John L. Rustin, president of the North Carolina Family Policy Council. “The state and its elected lawmakers have placed great faith in these individuals, and we look forward to working with them – and with all the members of the 2015-2016 North Carolina General Assembly – to promote and defend family, faith and the sanctity of human life in our great state.”

It was also announced that Rep. Edgar Starnes (R-Caldwell), who was elected to his 11th term in the N.C. House this past November, will resign from the House in order to accept a post as senior policy advisor and legislative liaison for the State Treasurer’s office. A replacement for Rep. Starnes will be nominated by the Caldwell County Republican Party.


Receive Our Legislative Alerts