Blog   Government

Major Milestone in 2018 Elections Reached, Primary Ahead

The deadline to file as a candidate for U.S. Congress and the North Carolina General Assembly in the upcoming 2018 elections came last week, marking a major milestone and the start of the primary election season. In what is being hailed as a “historic milestone,” there will be a contested General Election in all but one congressional district and in all 170 seats for the state legislature.

U.S. House

There were no surprises, as every incumbent filed to run for re-election. Twelve of the thirteen seats will be contested in the General Election, and only House District 3, currently represented by Republican Walter Jones, will be decided in the Primary, since there is no opposing party candidate in the General Election.  There will be Republican Primary elections in 7 of the 13 districts (House Districts 2, 3, 5, 9, 10, 11 & 12) and Democrat Primary elections in 10 of the 13 districts (House Districts 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, & 13).

NC Senate

At least one Republican and one Democrat filed to run in all 50 State Senate seats. There were a number of current Senators who did not file for reelection, including:

  • Sen. Bill Cook (R-Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans); District 1
  • Sen. Angela Bryant (D-Halifax, Nash, Vance, Warren, Wilson); District 4
  • Sen. Ron Rabin (R-Harnett, Johnston, Lee); District 12
  • Sen. Chad Barefoot (R-Franklin, Wake); District 18
  • Sen. Cathy Dunn  (R-Davidson, Montgomery); District 33
  • Sen. Tommy Tucker (R-Union); District 35

NC House of Representatives

At least one Republican and one Democrat filed in all but one of the 120 State House seats. The one exception was House District 24, where no Republican filed; however an Unaffiliated candidate did file to run. The following NC House members did not file for reelection for their current position, although three are running for seats in the State Senate:

  • Rep. Bob Steinburg* (R-Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrell); District 1;
  • Rep. Susan Martin (R-Pitt, Wilson); District 8
  • Rep. Bob Muller (R-Onslow, Pender); District 16
  • Rep. Larry Bell (D-Duplin, Sampson, Wayne); District 21
  • Rep. Jeff Collins (R-Franklin, Nash); District 25
  • Rep. Henry “Mickey” Michaux (D-Durham); District 31
  • Rep. Linda Hunt Williams (R-Wake); District 37
  • Rep. John Blust (R-Guilford); District 62
  • Rep. Bert Jones (R-Caswell, Rockingham); District 65
  • Rep. Sam Watford* (R-Davidson); District 80
  • Rep. Carl Ford* (R-Cabarrus, Rowan); District 76
  • Rep. Beverly Earle (D-Mecklenburg); District 101

* Running for NC Senate

The Primary Election will be held on May 8, with voter registration for that election ending on April 13. One-Stop (Early) Voting will run from April 19- May 5.

All judicial contests will have a filing period between June 18-June 29. The General Election will be held November 6, with voter registration for that election ending on October 12.


Receive Our Legislative Alerts